February 28, 2024


education gives you strength

Ben Cartwright, Science and Technology Facilities Council

It was back in the summer that we first announced the class of 2020, but we also want to put the spotlight again on the individual winners.

Today, taking it alphabetically, we’re highlighting Ben Cartwright, a Spacecraft Electronics/Systems Engineer at STFC (Science and Technology Facilities Council) and Citadel Space Systems.

EW BrightSpark 2020, In the spotlight: Ben Cartwright, Science and Technology Facilities Council


Ben graduated from Aston University with a master’s Degree (1st class with honours).

Ben achieved a great deal at Aston university including being Elected the Vice President of the Aston Electronics Society for 2015-16 and Vice President of the Aston eSports Society for 2014-16. He was also Founder and President of the Aston Astronomy and Astronautics Society.

In his time at Aston, he also received several awards; the Humphrey Orwin Memorial Prize for top first year on the Electronic Engineering and Computer Science programme and went on to win two further awards in final year: for best final year project for his work on a navigation system for cubesats, and the award from the Institute of Engineering and Technology.

Having left university, Ben is now working as a space systems/electronics engineer with an interest in nanosatellite systems design and spacecraft electronics engineering. Specifically, an electronic instrument engineer at the cutting edge of the space industry.

Read the full profile here.

See all the profiles of the EW BrightSparks 2020 below.

And you can read more about the EW BrightSparks programme, at electronicsweekly.com/brightsparks/

EW BrightSparks 2020

Here is the full list of 2020 EW BrightSparks.

  • Jordan Albutt, Manufacturing Leadership Engineering Degree Apprentice, Rolls-Royce / University of Warwick
  • Aakash Bansal, PhD Electrical Electronic and System Engineering, Loughborough University
  • Ben Cartwright, Spacecraft Electronics/Systems Engineer, STFC and Citadel Space Systems
  • Rodosthenis Charalampous, Industrial PhD Researcher / Electrical and Electronic Engineering, National Nuclear Laboratory / The University of Manchester
  • Nicole Cox, Graduate Engineer, Siemens Rail Infrastructure
  • Yanislav Donchev, MSc Artificial Intelligence, University of Southampton
  • Lauren Gray, Development Scientist, Peratech
  • Anna Hart, Graduate Electronics Engineer, Leonardo
  • James Imber, Senior Research Engineer, Imagination Technologies
  • Dominic Lane, PhD student, Lancaster University
  • Cheng Hao Lim, MEng Electronics and Electrical Engineering, University of Edinburgh
  • Marnie McKay, Graduate Engineer, Atkins
  • James Morris, CEO, Intelliroller
  • Grant Mullen, Founder, Managing Director, Ai Automation
  • Zain Nazar, Digital & Technological Solutions Degree Apprentice (Software Developer/Engineer), BT
  • Tom O’Brien, TV and Digital Media Apprentice, BT
  • Amber O’Connor, Equipment Health Monitoring & Performance Engineer and Remote Diagnostic Services Programme Manager, Siemens Aeroderivative Gas Turbines
  • Olivia Ojuroye, Product Specialist, The Wearable Tech Hub
  • Gethn Pickard, Graduate Engineer, Plessey Semiconductors
  • Luke Richards, MEng Mechanical Engineering, University of South Wales
  • Katherine Scott, TV & Digital Media Degree Apprentice, BT
  • Andy Tay Kah Ping, Research Fellow, Imperial College London
  • Elvis Tinago, Student / MEng Aerospace Engineering, University of West of England Bristol
  • Alexander Tomlinson, Lead Analytical Measurement and Equipment Engineer, Jaguar Land Rover
  • James Veale, Mechanical Engineer (Ice Core Drilling), British Antarctic Survey
  • Kyle Walker, Phd Student Underwater Robotics, University of Edinburgh
  • Ying Wan Loh, Manufacturing engineer, Rolls-Royce, University of Cambridge
  • Tyler Ward, Senior Engineer, Audioscenic
  • Adam Wilson, Embedded Electronics Engineer, Centre for Process Innovation (CPI) UK
  • James Zaremba, BEng Electronic and Electrical Engineering, Swansea University

Thank you to everyone who entered for the EW BrightSparks programme, including those not listed here. The standard for 2020 was exceptionally high this year, so many excellent candidates did not make this shortlist.

Our associates

We would also like to thank our associate supporting companies, which help to promote the EW BrightSparks programme and its aims.

  • Harting
  • TRACO Power
  • TE Connectivity
  • UK Electronics Skills Foundation

Their help is very much appreciated!

Source Article