U.S. DOJ Announces COPS School Security Grant Winners

Nearly $50 million in school safety funding was awarded through its School Violence Prevention Program.

WASHINGTON – The Department of Justice’s (DOJ) Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS Office) has announced nearly $50 million in school safety funding through its School Violence Prevention Program (SVPP). SVPP provides up to 75% funding for school safety measures in and around primary and secondary schools and school grounds.

The Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing School Violence Act of 2018 (STOP School Violence Act of 2018) gave the COPS Office authority to provide awards directly to states, units of local government, Indian tribes, and public agencies (such as school districts and law enforcement agencies) to improve security at schools and on school grounds in the jurisdiction of the grantee through evidence-based school safety programs. The 160 awards can be used for coordination with law enforcement; training for local law enforcement officers to prevent

Read More

Inaugural Winners of Heroes of Science: Breakthrough Filmmakers Challenge Announced

(From top left clockwise): Grace McNally, Hussain Currimbhoy, Carrie McCarthy, Dana Turken, John Hibey, Cutter Hodierdien, Molly Murphy and Thor Klein

TheWrap and the Breakthrough Prize Foundation today announced the winners of the inaugural “Heroes of Science: Breakthrough Filmmakers Challenge” – a new competition created to promote and support the development of films dedicated exclusively to science and scientists. The announcement was made at TheGrill 2020, TheWrap’s annual business conference focused on the convergence between entertainment, media and technology.

Competitors submitted a proposal for a short film about a Breakthrough Prize laureate. Each candidate was then judged by a panel of experts including filmmakers, scientists and science communicators, based on the proposal’s engagement with the laureate and their work, its characterization, creativity, clarity, accuracy and vision, as well as the filmmaker’s experience.

The six winners are:
Cutter Hodierne and John Hibey (US)
Dana Turken (US)
Grace McNally (US)
Hussain Currimbhoy

Read More

CDK Global and NAMAD Announce 2020 Fueling Careers Scholarship Winners

HOFFMAN ESTATES, Ill.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–CDK Global, Inc. (Nasdaq; CDK), a leading retail automotive technology company, together with the National Association of Minority Automobile Dealers (NAMAD), today announced the recipients of its annual Fueling Careers scholarship program. The program awarded four students with $12,500 scholarships, which will help support their continued pursuit of a college degree.

The recipients of the 2020 Fueling Careers scholarships are:

“At CDK, we are committed to creating opportunities for quality and inclusive education that promotes lifelong learning,” says Brian Krzanich, president and chief executive officer, CDK Global. “Each of the scholarship winners possesses the characteristics CDK and NAMAD have valued since establishing the Fueling Careers scholarship program in 2017. CDK is honored to play a small role in supporting these students as they continue learning the necessary skills to achieve success in their respective future careers.”

Sabrina Linares is the first student to receive the

Read More

EFSJclimategrant and European Science Journalist of the Year winners to be announced at ECSJ2020

The ECSJ2020 European Conference of Science Journalism (ecsj2020.eu) takes place on 1 and 2 September, as a satellite event of the Euro Science Open Forum ESOF2020 Trieste.

The programme comprises 31 experienced speakers from 14 different countries, including science journalists and journalists of general interest, researchers and scholars, science communicators, and editors. The event is fully online. The participation is free of charge, but registration is required through the conference website. One day before the event, it enjoys over registered 460 participants from 59 countries in Europe and beyond.

The event will conclude with two award ceremonies, Climate Investigation Grant and European Science Journalist of the Year award.

Keynote speakers include:

  • Pakinam Amer, science journalist and editor, MIT Knight Science Journalism Fellow (Egypt), “Journalist in a deep dive into virtuality and emerging technology”.
  • Martin Bauer, Professor of Social Psychology and Research Methodology at the London School of Economics and Political
Read More